PMLA Frequently Asked Questions

The information below is related to Paid Medical Leave Act (PMLA) at Wayne State University specifically. For general PMLA information, view the official FAQs published by the Bureau of Employment Relations - Wage and Hour Division.

What is a public health emergency?

A public health emergency is an event of disease or contamination that affects, or has the potential to affect, a large number of people. The PMLA inclusion requires that it be declared by a public health official. PMLA does not apply to weather-related closures.

Who is considered an eligible family member?

  • Child: Biological, adopted, foster, or stepchild
  • Legal ward
  • Child to whom the employee stands in loco parentis
  • Grandchild
  • Grandparent
  • Biological, adopted, foster, or stepparent of an employee or spouse
  • Legal guardian of an employee or spouse
  • Person who stood in loco parentis when the employee was a minor child
  • Sibling: Biological, foster or adopted
  • Spouse: A person to whom the employee is legally married under the laws of any state

** Please Note: The above eligibility definition only applies to Michigan Paid Medical Leave Act

When is Paid Medical Leave available for use by an eligible employee?

Employees may use paid medical leave as it is accrued.  However, WSU requires employees to wait until the 90th calendar day after commencing employment before using accrued paid medical leave.

How early does an employee need to request to use Michigan Paid Medical Leave?

When requesting to use PMLA leave time, the employee should follow the usual and customary notice, procedural, and documentation requirements for requesting leave. However, we understand that unexpected events sometimes require a last-minute request for leave. Therefore, no advanced notification is required. In accordance with the law, an employee will not be disciplined for taking up to 40 hours of eligible Michigan Paid Medical Leave time within a 12-month rolling period.

Documentation Requirements:

When is the documentation required?

  • Documentation is required when utilizing PMLA for 3 or more consecutive days
  • Employees are allowed up to 3 days to provide documentation following their return to work
  • Documentation should be turned into HR Consultant

Who can provide medical documentation when PMLA time is used?

  • Doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is authorized to practice medicine or surgery (as appropriate).
  • Any other person determined by the Secretary of Labor to be capable of providing healthcare services as defined under FMLA guidelines, including podiatrists, dentists, clinical psychologists, optometrists, chiropractors, nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, clinical social workers, and physician assistants – may provide medical documentation.

What types(s) of documentation may an employee provide when PMLA time is used?

Sufficient documentation includes but is not limited to:

  • Doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is authorized to practice medicine or surgery (as appropriate).
  • Any other person determined by the Secretary of Labor to be capable of providing healthcare services as defined under FMLA guidelines, including podiatrists, dentists, clinical psychologists, optometrists, chiropractors, nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, clinical social workers, and physician assistants – may provide medical documentation.
  • A police report, a signed statement from a victim or witness advocate, or court documentation indicating involvement in domestic violence or sexual assault is satisfactory documentation.

What is the minimum time that an employee can request to use Michigan Paid Medical Leave?

During each leave, a minimum of one (1) hour must be used for paid medical leave.

How is PMLA time recorded on the employee's timesheet?

E-classes TE, HP & SK:

  • A new Leave Bank has been created (PMLA), as well as new earnings code MPLMA (Michigan Paid Medical Leave Act) which will draw from the new bank (PMLA). These e-classes will accrue 1 hour for every 35 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours within a 12 month rolling period. Hours accrued since March 29, 2019 will be loaded into the PMLA Leave Bank during the week of July 8, 2019. 

All other eligible E-classes: 

  • A new earn code MPMLA (Michigan Paid Medical Leave Act) is to be used and will draw from the Illness bank. The new earn code is used exclusively for PMLA leave (up to 40 hours within a 12 month rolling period).

How can an employee monitor their use of leave time?

All eligible employees can view their leave bank balances on Employee Self-Service following this directory from Academica:

  • Employee Resources > Employee Self-Service > Leave Balances

All eligible employees can view their total hours utilized as Michigan Paid Medical Leave Act on Employee Self-Service by following this directory from Academica:

  • Employee Resources > Employee Self-Service > Other Services > Pay Information > Earnings History
  • Select date range
  • This will display all earn codes utilized: total hours and pay

May an employee carry over unused paid medical leave from one benefit year to the next?

WSU will be using the rolling 12 month period for Michigan Paid Medical Leave Act tracking purposes. Employees can carry over up to 40 hours of unused accrued paid medical leave during the rolling 12 month period; however, employers are not required to allow employees to use more than 40 hours within a rolling 12 month period..

Does accrued, unused paid medical leave need to be paid upon termination of employment?

No. Employees will not be paid for unused accrued paid medical leave at separation.

Back to main WSU PMLA page